Scriabin Sonatas Reimagined, Part I (Geneva)

by Intertwining Arts

15.06.18 18:00 - 15.06.18 19:30, Aula du Bosson, Onex Genève
Music. Alexander Scriabin (1872-1915) was an ambitious composer. A romantic alchemist, he saw his music as a transmuting agent. Through its influence pain would become happiness and hate become love, culminating in a phoenix-like rebirth of the universe. The Sonatas No. 1, 2 and 3 were written between 1892 and 1898; during the early 'tonal' phase of the composer. The following Sonata No. 4 emerged in 1903 and is an iridescent exaple of post-romantic style, to which belongs the second period of his legacy. In 1904 Scriabin moved to Switzerland, which inspired him to created new compositions the time in this country became one of his most fertile and creative periods. The Fifth Sonata belongs to his last, 'mature' period of creativity and it was published in 1907 in Lausanne. Scriabin added an epigraph to the sonata, it is an excerpt from his essay Le Poème de l'Extase: I call you to life, oh mysterious forces! Drowned in the obscure depths Of the creative spirit, timid Shadows of life, to you I bring audacity! Ich rufe euch zum Leben auf, verborgene Bestrebungen! Ihr in dunklen tiefen des schaffenden Geistes versunkenen, ihr ängstlichen Keime des Lebens, Kühnheit bringe ich euch. Je vous appelle à la vie, ô forces mysterieuses! Noyées dans les obscures profondeurs De l’esprit créateur, craintives Ebauches de vie, à vous j’apporte l’audace! ------------- Concept. One of the most crucial tasks for artists is communication to the public on contemporary sociological and environmental issues. Sometimes viewing a piece of art can leave a profoundly intense impact on the audience and evoke their interest towards a certain matter, which they might have never thought about before. This Intertwining Arts project is a blend of live piano performance of the first five Piano Sonatas by Alexander Scriabin (1872-1915) and a simultaneous projection of artistic video collages, with the Planet Earth and humanity's impact on it as the main subject matter. The project will focus on artistically displaying two main themes: the beauty and power of Earth, the generous planet, which is the home to all of us, opposed to the results of the human activity during the last 100-150 years, which has been drastically changing the environment; since the industrial revolution gradually lead to such a development of technology, which in turn created unretractable outcomes. This includes pollution, waste, climate change, lack of drinking water in certain parts of the planet, and many other problems. It concerns all and each of us and none would be able to avoid the consequences at a certain point in time. It is impossible for any thinking person not to notice these changes and to disregard this issue. Intertwining Arts aims to bring up this subject and figuratively speak about it from the stage by the means of live music and video projection. The first four Sonatas will concentrate on the four natural elements: the Fire, the Water, the Earth, and the Air. The Fifth Sonata will blend the elements of the preceding four in a way, with the add-ons of effects representing electiricy, outer space, surreal imagery, and several other visuals connected to the planet and the humanity. The project will emphasize the destructive aspect, in order to sharpen the awareness and encourage the public to pay more attention to the place we all live in, by diminishing each individual's negative input into this situation. The project team's goals are exploration of the topic and enlightenment of the audience by means of a vivid creative presentation with a professional performance uniting two art genres. More: Trailer: 01.06.18: ST.GALLEN Waaghaus Saal 08.06.18: ZURICH Musikzentrum Kammermusiksaal I 15.06.18: GENEVA Onex Aula du Bosson 26.06.18: LUCERNE (GALA) Theaterpavillon
Elina Akselrud
CHF 30.- (Adult); CHF 10.- (Student).